1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teacher Training has left my confidence crushed.

Discussion in 'Professional development' started by crees147, May 17, 2012.

1. After five years of teaching English abroad, I came back to England with the sole purpose of training to become a teacher. It was a further two and a half years until I managed to start a GTP during which time I did as much as I could to prepare myself for my training. I did months of voluntary work experience in order to secure an LSA position. I worked as an LSA for two years during which time I did a 24 week subject enhancement course alongside taking some A level modules in the subject I wanted to teach.
    Preparation is key ....
    Well, I did 5 months of my GTP before I decided to leave the program. I decided to do my GTP in the same school as I was an LSA (something I was a little dubious about as my experiences as an LSA had not always been positive ... I mean being asked 'Who are you?' by a member of SLT that you have said good morning to for the last year isn't the greatest feeling in the world!) However, I guess I was flattered into taking the position by the HoD and the training school leader (sucker ... one born every minute!)