1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teacher on support plan

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Vitalistics, May 15, 2019.

1. Vitalistics

Vitalistics New commenter

Hi all,

Since my last postings of being completely overwhelmed, I made the active decision to reduce my workload.

I have a small family and my baby needs me in the evenings.

However, after a recent batch of observations, I was told I am being placed on a support plan.

I'm still quite new to teaching. (Not long in this new school either)

My head of department said, improve in a term or face formal capability in front of the head.

I am now panicking big time.

I feel like resigning.

My question is...How long does formal capability last? I need this job to last me for the next 6 months at least. Or at least, any teaching job to last me the next 6 months.

Very confused about my next course of action!

2. averagedan

averagedan Occasional commenter

Depends on the reasons for placing you on formal capability - can be a quick thing lasting a few months if it's a quick fix, or something which lasts a year. Essentially it's at the school's discretion and the procedure will be laid out in a formal document somewhere which you can ask your HR department for.

3. hiddendavid

hiddendavid New commenter

Hate to say it but resign now, or before the 31st and look for a job elswhere, tescos, stacking shelves, another job you have expertise in or avon even, you wont get out of this easily and its not worth it, particularly with a young baby, get out and enjoy the child whist you can and never look back

4. ridleyrumpus

ridleyrumpus Lead commenter

Contact your union at regional, your school rep should refer this upwards