1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teacher getting an admin job?

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by ArdethBay, Jul 19, 2011.

1. I'm a full-time college lecturer. I have good academic qualifications (PGCE QTS and a PhD). With redudancies around the corner its possible that my job will become redundant and given the financial climate I doubt if I would find another post-16 teaching position which is what I enjoy. Now that the mortgage is paid I can consider a cut in salary, although I'd want a job with a public sector pension scheme. I was thinking of maybe applying for administative officer/assistant jobs in primary and secondary schools and colleges. What chances would I have of getting an admin job after teaching?

2. I'm a full-time college lecturer. I have good academic qualifications (PGCE QTS and a PhD). With redudancies around the corner its possible that my job will become redundant and given the financial climate I doubt if I would find another post-16 teaching position which is what I enjoy. Now that the mortgage is paid I can consider a cut in salary, although I'd want a job with a public sector pension scheme. I was thinking of maybe applying for administative officer/assistant jobs in primary and secondary schools and colleges. What chances would I have of getting an admin job after teaching?

3. I came out of KS2 teaching in 2007 after my son was born to do something else less demanding while he was small so I could spend my time at home focusing on motherhood instead of marking!