1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teacher from TA and overseas problems

Discussion in 'Overseas trained teachers' started by Nico76, Feb 20, 2009.

1. Nico76

Nico76 New commenter

Hi there,
    I am new here and I find this forum very useful.I am an EU national from Eastern Europe,graduated in my country with two teacher's degrees.I have years of teaching expereince back home and I have been working as a TA in a primary school for more than a year.The school knows I am a teacher and they give me 'HLTA' jobs as well,as PPA or absence cover for the whole class.The reason why I started as a TA was that I did not know the UK education system when I first came here,though I wanted to teach.Also,I did not have my QTS yet.I could have got supply jobs but had no idea how to teach here at first as the system is so different.Now I am experienced and few weeks ago I gained my QTS of which I am very proud.I told my school, they were happy but some behave strangely and I think they are jealous.A TA who is a qualified teacher? I told them from the beginning,but they only realise it now.I thought they would be supportive and happy,but it seems most of them isn't.Some of them are fine but I am not sure if they gossip behind my back.Whatever,I am looking for a proper teaching job now,and my school knows.Now I am confident and I think I would be able to teach a class.There is another problem though.I am not an NQT but I think because I am from the EU I am considered as one.My certificate says I am exempt from serving an induction period,so I don't think I will have to do it.Still,I am afraid schools will not choose me because I was only a TA,even if I taught some,and my overseas experience will not count.And simp