1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teacher from Germany

Discussion in 'Overseas trained teachers' started by JackFrober, Sep 24, 2015.

1. JackFrober

JackFrober New commenter

Hello everyone,

I am a fully qualified teacher in Bavaria, Germany. My subjects are English, Religious Education and School Psychology and I teach at the most difficult kind of secondary school (ages 11-18), the type that leads right to university here.
    And I am native of Germany.

I am thinking about moving to England to teach there and I know that I need to obtain QTS. I was told that QTS is not connected to certain subjects then, which sounds unrealistic to me. So basically that would mean that even though I don't have any formal training in teaching German, being a native speaker, schools would still hire me.

Does anyone have any experience concerning that? Is it possible to teach one's native language without formal training or is some kind of training required?

Also, would schools hire me as an English teacher, even though I am not a native speaker?

Being a school psychologist in Germany, I can do counselling at schools. Would this be possible in England too?

Thank you very much!

Anna_Bell_Eck likes this.
  2. sabrinakat

sabrinakat Star commenter

You've raised a number of queries:

1. You do need QTS in state schools (or you would be paid as an unqualified); Academies, Independents and some other schools do not require it, but it is nevertheless very helpful to have.
    2. You may have some success in teaching German, but (a huge but...) it is an increasingly decreasing subject and would be in competition with teachers with UK secondary experience and with QTS (and many who are native speakers).