1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teacher for languages- Can I teach PE?

Discussion in 'Physical education' started by Rovena, Feb 17, 2011.

1. Dear PE educators,
    I would like to be able to teach PE. I have studied Sports as part of my degree pathway coaching. The other part was in English.
    I am keen to teach PE, athough I am a teacher for MFL. Would I be able able to do that or would I have to do ánother training course? I also did PE A-level.
    Can I just apply at a school? It would be really what I want to teach as well, apart from languages.
    Can anyone help?

2. Dear PE educators,
    I would like to be able to teach PE. I have studied Sports as part of my degree pathway coaching. The other part was in English.
    I am keen to teach PE, athough I am a teacher for MFL. Would I be able able to do that or would I have to do ánother training course? I also did PE A-level.
    Can I just apply at a school? It would be really what I want to teach as well, apart from languages.
    Can anyone help?

3. I think it would depend what each school wants. I have known plenty of schools who have other subject teachers filling in for PE lessons once or twice a week, and this had led to an increase year on year and they have ended up with a split timetable between their own subject and PE. If your degree was part Sport then there doesnt seem to be a problem, I dont think you would have to do another training course.

4. Thank you that is very helpful. I will go for it now!! [​IMG] I really don't mind teaching in two departments.