1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teacher exchange between France and the UK in 2016-2017 (French-English teaching)

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by MelanieSLB, Feb 25, 2016.

1. MelanieSLB

MelanieSLB New commenter

Hello, everyone.

I am a teacher in France, in Normandy, but my partner is British. I love my job in France, but for personal reasons, my partner has to stay in the UK for at least another year. I don’t want to lose my job here, but I want to be with my partner. There is a European exchange program called Jules Verne that allows European teachers to swap jobs for a year. I am therefore looking for somebody who would be interested in swapping schools with me for a year. You and I would still continue employment with our current school, and our pay would still be given by our current school (I am a little fuzzy on how they work the different currency issue, but there would be a convention signed between your school, you, my school and me to deal with all that).

There are two targets to the program:
    - creating links between European schools
    - helping two teachers develop their understanding of another culture/education system.