1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teacher becoming a teaching assistant

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by pedro1, Feb 27, 2013.

1. Hi, Just after peoples thoughts to be honest . . . I'm a male teacher, qualified in 2010 with a 1st class honours only to discover that teaching is not for me. I've now worked in two schools (first one I hated, present school is great). Every day is groundhog day for in terms of feelings of going to work. I still want to work with children and in an educational setting, however I am becoming increasingly unhappy with the everyday pressures of being a teacher. After lots of thought and discussion with my partner I am considering applying for a HLTA or TA3/4 position. What I'm after is people experiences, views, thoughts and advice. Are schools likely to take a qualified teacher? Has anyone been or in the same position? Any comments from HT or SLT members would also prove beneficial to me. Thanks.