1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

"Teacher Baiting" in the classroom and around school

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by peppermint85, Apr 25, 2015.

1. Hello,

I am a new teacher in a good comprehensive school. Although the behaviour in my school can be tough, I love where I work and I have managed to turn really difficult classes around so that even the notorious girls in them work with me most of the time and are making progress. However, I have a particularly difficult, KS3 shared class. I share this class with the same teacher who taught them since they came to the school. They are perfectly behaved for their other teacher, but seem to use my lessons with them as an excuse to mess around and do whatever they please.

This class has quite a few difficult children in it and they seem to pack together to make it almost impossible for me to teach them. They are very rude, do not take my detentions or phonecalls home seriously and they always talk over me and do not stay focused on their learning. I am planning lessons for them that are fun and I get these looked at every week by my HOD and the teacher I share the class with before I teach them to make sure they are pitched appropriately and that they are enjoyable.

Despite trying every strategy I can think of and have read about in books/internet and from teacher friends, getting other members of staff in to help and being really firm with the girls, they still do not pull together to focus on the learning. It is making it horrendous to teach them and I feel totally powerless when I am in the classroom with them.