1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teach in Seville

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by BigNat, Dec 3, 2018.

1. BigNat

BigNat New commenter

Hello!

I want to teach in Spain and to have an authentic Spanish experience. (Depite being able to earn more elsewhere)
    My preference is Seville but I'm aware there are only a few international schools.
    If anyone has worked as a teacher in seville I would welcome any advice. I have been teaching for 6 years and so have a wealth of experience. Is it best to apply to the international schools directly or perhaps do Tefl English teaching or private tuition instead? And if so would I make enough money to live?!
    Thanks in advance!

2. blue451

blue451 Occasional commenter

I haven't worked in Seville but know someone there and have worked close by.

The schools tend to pay the 'convenio' - the nationally agreed minimum for teachers. Cost of living in general (food, utilities etc) isn't low anymore, Rents in the cities have increased sharply in recent years. However, depending where you work, if you live in a small town/village near your school you could get much cheaper rents. Although there are some international flights from Seville, when you factor in cost of flights for visits home and holidays, you might want to factor in travel to Málaga and any hotel costs owing to flight times as well - it sounds petty but when you're scaping by on a lowish salary these things are significant.

(Mind you, if six years teaching can be considered a wealth of experience, a spanish salary could perhaps be conidered a king's ransom too. )

3. miketribe

miketribe Occasional commenter