1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Tattoos on teachers: The arguments for and against.

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by missmaths1990, Feb 8, 2012.

1. Hello everybody,
    I am new to this and have been reading through this forum for most of the day and decided I would like to post something of my own and see the kind of responses I receive.

Basically I am 21 years old and currently in my final year of a maths degree. In September I will be starting a PGCE course in secondary mathematics.

I have already had plenty of experience, I had paid work as a maths mentor in a university on a foundation degree, a paid placement in a high achieving school and volunteer at an almost special measures school at the moment. This is without mentioning the primary experience and others I have also had.

I have 5 tattoos, none are particularly large and all mean something to me. I am soon to get number 6 and have been researching peoples opinions on tattoos on teachers. Some have argued for, some have argued against and some have been downright rude. An example of this is somewhere along the lines of "tattoos make people look a bit thick".

It is now 2012 and I would believe that the majority of the western culture above the legal age has at least one tattoo, they may regret it, they may love it that is down to personal opinion. I do not understand why there are such negative connotations toward those with tattoos.