1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Talking about race when teaching "To Kill a Mockingbird"

Discussion in 'English' started by anon1029, May 12, 2012.

1. I am currently teaching "To Kill a Mockingbird" to a low ability Year 10 class in an ethnically diverse school, but this particular class of 30 has just one black student. As a new teacher I feel unequipped to talk about issues of race and am worried that despite hoping to teach sensitively, the pupils will pick up on my awkwardness or that I might accidentally end up making a complete mess of it. It seems easier to just avoid the issue by just emphasising the specific context of 1930s/50s U.S.A., but I feel like that would be doing the text and pupils a disservice.
    Does anyone have any advice about how I could approach the issue sensitively in the classroom or any resources that could help?

2. I am currently teaching "To Kill a Mockingbird" to a low ability Year 10 class in an ethnically diverse school, but this particular class of 30 has just one black student. As a new teacher I feel unequipped to talk about issues of race and am worried that despite hoping to teach sensitively, the pupils will pick up on my awkwardness or that I might accidentally end up making a complete mess of it. It seems easier to just avoid the issue by just emphasising the specific context of 1930s/50s U.S.A., but I feel like that would be doing the text and pupils a disservice.
    Does anyone have any advice about how I could approach the issue sensitively in the classroom or any resources that could help?