1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Taking the register

Discussion in 'Primary' started by anon2145, Apr 2, 2012.

1. I am a PGCE student just starting a second placement in a Y2 class. In my last placement the teacher (Y6) didn't call out names during the register, just ticked them all off. In this class the teacher who is also my mentor has told me that the class (which is very fidgety and not good at listening) doesn't respond to sitting still whilst the register is being called. Instead she puts a game on the IWB for them and ticks them off.
    I'm finding this approach quite hard. I'm still learning their names and would much prefer to take the register formally. Whilst they are playing the game on the IWB there is a lot of calling out, jumping up out of turn, touching the screen to go on to the next level when they aren't ready etc. I'll be looking down the register for a name whilst a child who has put their hand up to have a go is at the board struggling. The rest of the class are shouting out to help and it's all a bit chaotic.
    The teacher has said she is open to letting me try new approaches so does anyone have any good ways of taking the register that keeps the chn engaged? The other problem is that they come in at different times from 8:50 onwards and go straight to the carpet so the ones that have been there for a while do get restless. In other classes that I've seen the chn come in, sit at their desks to do spellings etc and then when all the class is there they go to the carpet to do the register, which seems to work well.
    Thanks in advance for any advice.