1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Taking the plunge but need advice on money and non-teaching partner

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by jessjaw, Mar 14, 2011.

1. Hi All,
    I am a Primary School teacher in London and am hoping to take the plunge and move abroad to work in an international school. Europe and South East Asia are my ideal destinations. It's a massive step and quite overwhelming. If anyone could help me with the following queries, I would be extremely grateful!
    • I live with my boyfriend who is not a teacher and would like him to come with me. He would like to take a TEFL course and teach English. How realistic is this?
    • What should I expect in terms of a package (accommodation/health insurance/flights etc)?
    • My boyfriend and I both have debts. Will this make getting a visa outside of Europe difficult?
    • Do I have to give reference details on my application? I haven't told my boss yet and would rather not until I have a job!
    Thank you in advance for any info you are able to give me!
    J

2. wrldtrvlr123

wrldtrvlr123 Occasional commenter

-I live with my boyfriend who is not a teacher and would like him to come with me. He would like to take a TEFL course and teach English. How realistic is this?
    It is very realistic in Asia. I can't really answer about Europe. Many people make a decent if not spectacular living teaching English in Asia with a TEFL/TESOL certificate (and sometimes not even that).
    •What should I expect in terms of a package (accommodation/health insurance/flights etc)?