1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Taking over a class- what do I need to get?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by cazzielou, Mar 27, 2012.

1. cazzielou

cazzielou New commenter

After Easter I am starting a job in a year 1 classroom taking over from someone who is going on maternity leave. I have been in the school a couple of times getting to know the children and teaching assistant but their current teacher is away on sick leave now and isn't expected to be back before Easter holidays so I will not get a real handover from her.

I am completely new to the school do I have been learning some of their routines but it has been hard as I have been working with a supply teacher on the times that I have been in and she doesn't know about the routines herself. I want to start after Easter feeling that I know what I am doing, rather than being thrown in at the deep end like I feel at the moment

The deputy showed me how to get into the system today and told me to print off any planning and policies I want to look over. I have started to make a list ready for next time I am in on Thursday. If there is anything anybody can add it would be most appreciated, or if anyone has started part way through a year can you tell me anything you wish you had known from the offset or anything you spent ages looking at and it was a waste of time!

so far I have:

?Medium term plans

?Examples of daily planning expected from me

?weekly timetable

?daily routines inc times

?intervention group info

?key children background info (deprived area)

?IEPs and and reward schemes for ind

?chn levels in all subjects

?marking policy

?assessment policy

?behaviour Policy

2. chocolateworshipper