1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Taking Early Retirement

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by SUPER.SUPPLY, Apr 20, 2019.

1. SUPER.SUPPLY

SUPER.SUPPLY New commenter

Dear All,

I have had a condition since i was a young person which would blight most lives but i never let it. I went into teaching in my 30s. Was told at the time that i would not be able to do it because of my so called disability but i never allowed the powers that be to stop me. I have been teaching now for 18 years and am contemplating leaving. Im worn out with criticism, workload, bullying, nastiness to climb that slt ladder. I have come under the disability act since entering teaching and never once used it to get a job. Ive proved myself instead. Got on with the job because that is how i am. But now, can I take early retirement? I only have 10 years contributions to my pension as i worked full time for 8 years on supply. I want out of teaching in the classroom altogether and my life back.

Thank you

2. becky70

becky70 Occasional commenter

Have you tried posting this in the Retirement forum? There seems to be quite a few knowledgeable folk on there who should be able to help.

3. Kateray1

Kateray1 Occasional commenter

Have you thought of private tutoring work?

4. Sundaytrekker

Sundaytrekker Star commenter

What age are you? You could be late 50s. If you are 55+ then you can take your pension with a reduction but it will be a comparatively small pension on ten years contributions. If you are asking can you get something extra because of your disability then that would only be if you are medically unfit to teach and have the evidence for this.

5. mothorchid

mothorchid Star commenter