1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

taking a job in a special measures school

Discussion in 'Ofsted inspections' started by samsa, Apr 1, 2007.

1. Hi, I am job hunting at the moment for september. I have been teaching for 5 years and so have a bit of experience under my belt. Ive seen a job advert for a school that was put into sm late last year. They've had their first inspection whereby progress was so far inadequate. i'm going in for a visit in order to get a feel for the school but am hesitant over whether to apply. Think it could be a good career op and v rewarding, but worried about undue stress. Could anyone offer any advice? Thank you.

2. Hi, I am job hunting at the moment for september. I have been teaching for 5 years and so have a bit of experience under my belt. Ive seen a job advert for a school that was put into sm late last year. They've had their first inspection whereby progress was so far inadequate. i'm going in for a visit in order to get a feel for the school but am hesitant over whether to apply. Think it could be a good career op and v rewarding, but worried about undue stress. Could anyone offer any advice? Thank you.

3. Find out as much as you can before you decide anything!!

I took a job in a school which had just gone into SM quite a few years ago. The head, staff and kids were fantastic. Even our designated HMI was appreciative of the work we were doing. All was fine until the LA stepped in and decided to close the school - only half a term into SM.

We all nearly killed ourselves to prove that the school was not just good enough to get out of SM, but that the quality of teaching rivalled any other primary I'd ever worked in.