1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Take work with you

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by german_1, Jun 17, 2019.

1. german_1

german_1 New commenter

I am new to supply and have been asked to take worth with me this week, one day a year 6 class and one day a mixed 5/6 (primary).
    What would you take?
    I am hoping to gather some english and maths that I can differentiate easily (?) but apart from that I am clueless. Any and all suggestions welcome.

2. lunarita

lunarita Established commenter

I don't know what I'd take for Y5/6 but I hope they're paying you appropriately for your preparation time.

agathamorse likes this.
  3. blazer

blazer Star commenter

Plain paper and crayons?

4. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

I agree some basic materials and then just plan a one-off day's topic. Remember at this time of year Year 6s are often doing a production for the end of term and I used to do 'end of school' reflection poems with them.
    Then shapes/ nets for Maths are quite good fun to do with them. Or even introduce them to Sudoku.

Jesmond12 likes this.
  5. Jesmond12

Jesmond12 Star commenter

When I started supply a few months ago I invested in a set of Maths, SPAG, and comprehension books for Y3-Y5 so that I always had something on hand if work had not been left.

I have also made a collection of good worksheets that have been left for me.

I also invested in a subscription to a “sparkling star” website which has been very useful.

This free website may also be useful http://www.primaryresources.co.uk/

Just look at the Y5 and Y6 curriculum, as they are coming to the end of the year anything that you do will be revisiting areas covered to reinforce knowledge.