1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

TA work in Dubai

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Sebbenn, Jun 7, 2019.

1. Sebbenn

Sebbenn New commenter

I'm going to Dubai as a trailing spouse. My degree is Philosophy and PGCE in French. I know I won't be able to teach French...
    Can anyone tell me what sort of salary a TA could expect?
    Thanks

2. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter

Very low. 3k at the lower end. Not sure about the upper, but it’s not high.
    Take a year to study and earn a qualification?

3. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

Yes, I am sure that gulfers is right. Salaries for TAs in Dubai are going to be on the low side. Perhaps you could get some private tuition in French or maybe you should think about teaching English online. It pays about twenty dollars an hour. That is not much, but it is probably better than what most TAs would be getting.

4. Sebbenn

Sebbenn New commenter

Thank you both. I'm 50 and have twenty plus years at the chalk face but had a year out in 2017 after illness so can't afford another.
    I am TEFL qualified so maybe online is best. Is there any way of finding out which companies are reputable?
    Oh, and...I understood tutoring was illegal in the UAE? Please tell me I'm wrong!

5. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper