1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

TA taken advantage of by lazy/poor teacher

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by Hardwrker007, May 15, 2011.

1. Hardwrker007

Hardwrker007 New commenter

I am a recent arts graduate who originally wanted to pursue a career in community arts regeneration, however graduating during the recession has proved quite difficult as jobs were scarce. I adore working with children and have had many years of volunteering and leading projects in the UK and abroad. In September I will be pursuing a PGCE in primary education.

I have been working as a TA for two years. I started at a school last September with a 2.5 form entry school. I have and I am sure as most of you put 200% into my role as a TA as no job is worth a half-hearted effort..whole heartedly all the way.

Whilst I throughly enjoy my job as a TA, but up until now I can't help but feel taken advantaged of. I have started to become slightly frustrated with my teacher this term as she expects me to carry out my role and most of hers too.