1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

TA interview - advice needed

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by geordiepip, Jun 29, 2011.

1. I have an interview for a TA role on Friday and part of the assessment is as follows:
    <font size="3">In order to assess your rapport with
    children alongside your questioning skills, we would like you to lead a
    reading session with a group of year three children. We will provide you
    with the text on the day of the interview and give you time to familiarise
    yourself with it. There will be four children in the group with literacy
    levels ranging between 3c and 3a.</font>

I have never worked in a school before but have done 11 years working in a learning & development environment for a global blue chip company.
    Just wondered if anyone could offer some nuggets of advice to help settle my nerves...

2. Ok the gap between 3c and 3a isn;t vast so at least they will be of a similar skill range! Rapport = get-along-ability...be yourself, be happy and be firm! Maybe bring a puppet..."he is looking to see who listens well and he will give you a sticker for amazing listening skills".....I work with a year 3 girl after school and she still loves a sticker, so take some with you...just go with the flow and smile!!!

AND
    Good luck!!

3. thanks for the advice so quickly. my 3 year old daughter has hundreds of stickers so im sure she wont miss a few!!
    Whats your interpretation of the phrase 'leading a reading session'? I take it that I would be encouraging the children to do the reading and then check their understanding afterwards rather than just me doing all the reading?? I'm so nervous I cant think straight!!

4. bluebell27