1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Switching subjects

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Bonnie23, Jul 5, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Bonnie23

Bonnie23 Occasional commenter

Hi

So a brilliant opportunity has come up near where my parents live, currently i'm four hours away and with corona happening it's made me realise my prioritises a lot more. Currently I teach D&T and although I love my subject I honestly don't think I can pass up the opportunity.

The job is for Art, Design and Photography which isn't a million miles away from my current subject but I wondered if anyone else had done this and how they adapted? My degree is in contemporary arts so I have a good background knowledge but I know I would have to familiarise myself with the specs.

Thank you for any advice
    B x

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Hi there Bonnie.

Now there are three points here.

1. Can you do the job?

2. Are you passionate about the subject and passing on this passion?

3, Can you persuade them that you can do the job?

If you are serious, you need to do this now, before you start the application. Because you need t o be sure that you can do the job, and do it well, and that you WANT to do the job with a passion. If you aren't convinced yourself, you will never manage point number 3!

To persuade them, you need to have an application that shows two things. That you meet their person specification (more or less - if they ask for experience in teaching, you'll have to ignore that!). And also that you are so passionate about the subject that you will pass this passion on.