1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Switching from Secondary PGCE to Primary PGCE

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by caughtupinachaosofbooks, Mar 5, 2020.

Tags:
  1. caughtupinachaosofbooks

caughtupinachaosofbooks New commenter

Hi everyone,

I am not keen to go into much detail as I feel utterly disappointed with myself and obviously don't want to make matters worse. I am a secondary PGCE student, well I should say I was. I enrolled onto the course in September 2018, and unfortunately failed second placement. I was then given the opportunity to retake placement after September 2019, but my training provider have backed out from finding me a placement. I've been told they will put in an application to extend time further for me to resit placement, but still not guaranteed that I will get a placement. & I am now exhausted!

I do not wish to disclose the reason as to why that decision has been made.

I am getting sick off it and don't think I want to continue with Secondary PGCE anymore. They have advised me that I could maybe consider other routes (Primary PGCE/FE etc). However, they were not so clear themselves and have told me to get in touch with a careers adviser.

So to sum it up, I would like to know whether I could reapply for a course such as primary PGCE for the next academic year, bearing in mind my current circumstances. Would I be allowed to enroll onto the course? Teaching is my passion, be it secondary or primary. I love being in the classroom, teaching children etc. but I feel I have wasted a lot off time! Would it be worth it?

2. VeronicAmb

VeronicAmb Occasional commenter