1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Switch from Secondary Teaching to Secondary TA..?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Amyglanville3, Feb 23, 2020.

1. Amyglanville3

Amyglanville3 New commenter

Hi,
    I'd be really grateful for ANY advice..I'm a qualified secondary school English teacher, although my most recent experience was teaching Media to KS4 and KS5. I have 7 years classroom experience but having had three kids, I've not now worked for five years and before that worked part-time for a couple of years.
    I want to return to work but I'm unsure about what role and what training to pursue. I'm happy to take the next year to retrain/brush up, before applying for jobs. I have plenty of volunteering experience at my kids' primary - literacy support, SATs help, running book/reading groups - but think I'd be happier working back in the secondary sector.
    Probably like many people, I am attracted to the shorter hours of a TA, although I know it's still a tough job (for not very good pay). Has anyone made this switch? Are there actually many TA roles in secondary schools in your experience? I understand that they are often cut with tight budgets.
    I've been looking at online training, both NCFE Level 3 Certificate Supporting Teaching and Learning and HLTA qualification (though I understand that I need to be already working in a TA role for this)..
    Just not sure how I'll be viewed applying for TA roles. Maybe it's best I just start by volunteering in a local secondary?
    Many thanks in advance!

2. smurphy6

smurphy6 Senior commenter