1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

suuply teaching pay

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by little_miss_teach, Feb 15, 2012.

1. little_miss_teach

little_miss_teach New commenter

Hi all
    I just wondered how much i can expect to take home from a day of supply. I am an m5 teacher (although that doesnt necessarily mean I will get paid much!) but after tax etc what would I be expecting to make for a day?
    Thanks

2. little_miss_teach

Hi all
    I just wondered how much i can expect to take home from a day of supply. I am an m5 teacher (although that doesnt necessarily mean I will get paid much!) but after tax etc what would I be expecting to make for a day?
    Thanks

3. PaulDG

PaulDG Occasional commenter

It depends.

Agencies tend to pay no more than about £150 a day maximum. From that, your NI, tax and employer's NI have to be taken and a processing fee.

Ends up at about £100 a day. Of course that "includes" your "holiday pay" and there's no pension, nor sick arrangements either.

This, of course, assumes you get work as a teacher, you might get work as a cover supervisor instead and that would give a take home of about £70 a day.

4. You would be VERY lucky to get this much.

5. Just what I was thinking. The going rate here is between £90 and £120. But we do get 12% holiday pay too.

6. I'm M5 and I get 130 a day as a supply teacher. My agency offers CS work at 65 a day, which I have refused.
    Like the insurance adverts tell us, shop around and see what is the best rate you can get.

7. hammie

hammie Lead commenter