1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

suspected breast cancer

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by tracer24, Nov 1, 2011.

1. Hi everyone, I am hoping someone out there can give me some advice. I went for a mamogram and they did a biopsy on the lump I have in my breast. They think it looks like a cancer but I won't know for sure till Monday. They said surgery will probably happen in 5 weeks. I'd like to know if it's usual to have any other treatment after the op, so if any of you out there have got any experience of this please advise me, thanks.

2. Ruthie66

Ruthie66 New commenter

Hi Tracer
    I'm no expert but I am aware that friends of mine who have had breast cancer have had chemo and/or radiotherapy afterwards but I think it very much depends on the results of the biopsy. Hope everything works out OK for you

3. Thanks Ruthie. It's just the waiting till Monday when I can ask all these questions at the hospital that's so hard. THank you for your kind response anyway.

4. joli2

joli2 New commenter

I don't know specifically about breast cancer, but I think the treatment depends on the result of the surgery and how far it's gone. I think usual treatment is the surgery followed by chemo/radiotherapy. Sorry you're having to go through this. Sometimes the waiting is the hardest part. Once you know what you're dealing with (if anything) and get a treatment plan it will be (somewhat) easier to deal with.

5. Thanks Joli I know you're right, there is a small chance that it's nothing and I need to know what sort of something it is if it is! Thanks for replying.