1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

supporting children with English as an Additional Language

Discussion in 'Independent' started by LauraPearceKP, Dec 31, 2016.

1. LauraPearceKP

LauraPearceKP New commenter

I am currently a 3rd Year BEd student at Plymouth University and I am writing my extended essay/thesis on supporting children with English as an Additional Langauge (EAL) in primary geography. My main research question is "which teaching approaches are the most effective for scaffolding EAL learners within primary geography enquiries?" and my research investigates specifically:
    What is the effect of collaborative learning in supporting EAL learners within geographical enquiries?
    What is the effect of drama/speaking and listening in supporting EAL learners within geographical enquiries?
    What is the effect of books in supporting EAL learners within geographical enquiries?
    I need to conduct short 20 minute interviews based around teacher's perceptions of the effectiveness of the three different approaches. These can be conducted over Skype at at time that is the most convenient for you! I would be so incredibly grateful for any contribution!
    Please message me if you are interested! Thank you in advance my email address is laura.pearce-3@students.plymouth.ac.uk

dana_santos16 likes this.
  2. florian gassmann

florian gassmann Star commenter

Like most things in the independent sector, TEAFL in the independent sector varies widely. My own school does none for the simple reason that pupils would never pass the entrance exam without a good knowlege of English (we do expect to see a high IELTS score for overseas students before sitting the entrance exam).