1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Supporting a student teacher

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by A_Newbie, Jan 15, 2012.

1. Hi all,

I have been teaching for four years now and I am about to have a student teacher allocated to my primary class for a month. I was looking for any tips/suggestions that would make life easier for both of us.

Thanks!

2. Hi all,

I have been teaching for four years now and I am about to have a student teacher allocated to my primary class for a month. I was looking for any tips/suggestions that would make life easier for both of us.

Thanks!

3. I had a brilliant mentor for my placement because she made me feel very welcome and made it obvious she wanted to help me be a better teacher and her advice was to develop my skills. She arranged for me to go to after school clubs and talk to the SENCO etc. She made sure she gave us some time at the end of the day to discuss how things had gone.
    When we were doing the paperwork she suggested things we could down that we had done and looked for ways for us to complete the standards we had not covered.

Hope that helped

4. sleepyhead

sleepyhead New commenter

I'm the professional mentor in my school, and therefore organise all of the allocations. One of the main things I try to do is achieve equity across all classes - so I have a handbook which all classroom teachers get, which sets out exactly what's needed. Perhaps your school has something similar?
    Mine covers things like:
    • seating plans
    • SEN/G&T/other needs
    • data
    • what's been covered to date
    • what to do next
    Hope this helps.

5. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter