1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Supplying Food to students in Food Technology Lessons!

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by yms51, Dec 13, 2011.

1. I am a teacher in charge of Food Technology at a secondary school. For the past two years we have been buying the ingredients in for our students and charging them a set amount each week. We work on a rotation system and so they are in food for approx 12-14 weeks. We tried to buy the food in bulk from place like Blakemores, but couldn't get quality fresh ingredients. We then moved to Asda online and had a weekly order delivered, specific to what staff required for their teaching and learning. This has worked well, generally for 2 years. I have been told this week I cannot do this any longer. I am trying to research how other Food Technology departments cater for the needs of their students and how they get around the red tape that seems to surround handling money and ordering systems. I have a meeting with SLT and the business manager in the school and want to go with ideas of how to overcome this problem. I have my own ideas but want to see how other Food Departments deal with this issue.

Many thanks for any suggestions and contributions given. yms51 :))