1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Supply - workload

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by Nadine86, May 20, 2019.

1. Nadine86

Nadine86 New commenter

I'm fairly new to supply and I have just been given a supply contract for one term. I chose to do supply, as I feel that permanent teaching posts are too stressful for me at the moment.

I am a little concerned about the workload, as I am expected to plan lessons and mark books/assessments. I understood this when I took the job, however, I am regularly asked to cover lessons during my free periods.

Thus, I am forced to stay late after school to plan my lessons and finish my marking. I am in the same position as I was when I was a permanent teacher but with less job security and unpaid holidays. Is this an issue that I should raise? Or should I just keep my head down?

schoolsout4summer likes this.
  2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Unfortunately as you've found, it is quite usual, when doing long-term to do all the 'normal duties' of full-time teachers, but without job security or being paid during the holidays. However your rate of pay should reflect this and be slightly higher than ordinary day-to-day supply.

3. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter

Lara is right...ensure you are getting a fair daily rate. It should be higher than a day to day rate.

You have to stand up for yourself because if you do not no one else will as the school and cover manager are not showing professionalism by using you for cover during your free periods. The agency won't care since as far as they are concerned you are not a human being but a way to make them loads of money.