1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Supply work is slow - how does everyone cope?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by svca92, Nov 4, 2015.

1. svca92

svca92 New commenter

Hi everyone,

This is my first year teaching as I have just qualified, and I have maybe had a total of 10 days since September. It really gets me down some days, I just feel useless and that I'm wasting my skills.

If it wasn't for the Saturday job I have, then I wouldn't really be able to cope. Is this general feeling of supply workers? If so, do you have an alternative method of coping?

I need someone to talk to about it.

Thank you.

2. Fraccy

Fraccy New commenter

I try to supplement income through tutoring. I also teach part-time (ie. one weekly lesson) at a small local independent school, where they're grateful for the presence of an experienced teacher. It keeps me in teaching, plus I get occasional tutees.

Consider developing yourself in other directions. Your skills as a teacher could make you marketable as a freelancer. Computer programming ('coding') is the new hotness, but there's also graphic design, copywriting, translation...

svchanner likes this.
  3. svca92

svca92 New commenter

Ah that's good for you, how did you go about tutoring? Did you just advertise yourself? I would love to have the skills that might make me considerable for 'coding' or graphic design but I don't think I'm qualified enough.

I was told that supply might pick up after the half term, but it still doesn't really guarantee anything for me.

Thank you

4. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter

Hi svchanner