1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Supply Teaching Probationer

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by bookworm88, Jun 24, 2011.

1. I am looking for some advice as to how best to deal with my current work status.
    I undertook a Probation Year 2005 - 2006 and decided to leave teaching in 2006 to explore other career options for both professional and personal reasons.
    I have been registered with my local Council as a Supply Teacher since January 2011 and have had ten full days of work.
    I am now trying to meet the General Teaching Council for Scotland Standards for Full Registration via the Alternative/Flexible Route. I am an English Teacher (with Drama as an extra subject).
    I need 190 days service by October 2015. I am really keen to return to teaching and feel ready to meet the challenges now I am 29 years old.
    To put it into perspective, I have had 10 days of work since January 2011.
    However, I am becoming increasingly frustrated with how best to finance my attempts to return to teaching. I am stuck in a Catch 22 in terms of balancing what I need to do to get back into teaching with the financial issues surrounding undertaking Supply work.
    In short, if I work any more than 2 days (14 hours) at a school on the Supply list, I get my Jobseeker's Allowance suspended for weeks. I am currently still awaiting a back payment which I have been owed for almost 5 weeks.
    I was finding it difficult enough to sustain myself on my full JSA before these complications but it is really becoming an added stress.
    Can anyone offer me any practical advice regarding how to a) keep myself afloat financially and b) keep motivated?