1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Supply teaching and pension

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by helensimpkin, Mar 5, 2011.

1. Can I still contribute to the teachers' pension scheme if I am a supply teacher? I realise I won't receive the Government's share.

2. Can I still contribute to the teachers' pension scheme if I am a supply teacher? I realise I won't receive the Government's share.

3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

I do, but I'm paid thro' the LA.

4. magic surf bus

magic surf bus Star commenter

Only if you're paid via the LEA. Supply Agencies' own payroll systems are not part of the TP scheme. You can voluntarily pay extra to boost your pension but the amount required is eye-watering.

5. jubilee

jubilee Lead commenter

If LA paid you automatically have pension deductions made (and the LA /school budget contribute the employer share) unless you elect to Opt Out.
    A private agency may offer you a stakeholder pension but you cannot contribute to the TPS from agency earnings.
    In the old TPS, you used to be able to buy Added Years (more expensive the older you were and the higher you were on the payscale). The new TPS, running for the last 4 years, only allows you to buy extra annual pension in retirement. You decide that you want another £1k per year in retirement, say, and they calculate how much you need to contribute as a lump sum or as a regular deduction from pay over 10 years (an unlikely option for those doing irregular supply teaching). You pay the employee and employer's contribution.