1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Supply Teaching and Low Pay

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by HPlester, Jul 26, 2019.

1. HPlester

HPlester New commenter

I came out of a, permanent job at Christmas as it emerged I was expected to run a Department almost single handedly, including teaching virtually the whole school. All without recognition or pay increase I might add. I just didn't fancy the 60-70 hr week the job would become for me. I was struggling with the 50 I already did, plus I'd done nearly a year as an acting HOD. I've been teaching for 20 years, and I know a HOD job when I see one. You certainly wouldn't do it for free! Anyway back into supply I went, and having done it many years ago I was optimistic. Only, the job has change dramatically. The teaching rate of old was slashed in the first meeting, which shocked me. I was then contacted each week and asked whether I would accept part days as teacher or cover supervisor. I was often asked to go in late, leave early and often at the last minute the school cancelled. More often than not, no work was set, even in good schools, and students increasingly took me less seriously than ever before. Behaviour was worse than ever and class sizes so large they barely fit in the rooms. Added to this I've just been doing some sums. I actually earned £4000 less nett pay than 6 months in a permanent role. So to conclude, the job has gone, it is just a fill in until a teacher either goes back into the huge workload on offer in a permanent post, or else moves to a different career. Shame, but I thought I'd tell my story of recent experience.

2. JohnJCazorla

JohnJCazorla Star commenter