1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Supply teacher snow days

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by rolanda, Feb 28, 2018.

1. rolanda

rolanda New commenter

Just wanted to know if anyone is being paid for snow days. I am working with a school as a supply teacher on a long term contract ( I have been working there for 11 months) and was told that they are closed today and tomorrow.

Any ideas on what my rights are with regards to pay? I am being paid parity.

2. langteacher

langteacher Occasional commenter

I don't know for sure but at a guess I would say you won't get paid

3. captain scarlet

captain scarlet Established commenter

Usually, no work, NO PAY.

If you do get some, well, well done you.

But I think that you are looking at a day when nothing is going to come your way.

I was major supply for 10 years over, and even if I was cancelled mid journey, nothing was paid. and that did happen a couple of times

4. SEBREGIS

SEBREGIS Lead commenter

Might be different with long-term supply. You could argue that because you have agreed to work there, you don't have an agency looking out for other jobs. You didn't close the school. They did.

rolanda likes this.
  5. satwinderkh1

satwinderkh1 New commenter

I am wondering as I am long term supply too.
    I will put it on my timesheet, after all I am willing and able to work, tomorrow.
    I work for the agency but am contracted to the school, I am sure it is an entitlement worth pursuing

6. rolanda

rolanda New commenter

I have been paid in the past.......fwgen I worked for a different school when we had the last bad snow storm.

I will keep you posted.

satwinderkh1 likes this.
  7. rolanda

rolanda New commenter