1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Supply Teacher bullied by kids?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by Vixen46, Jan 9, 2012.

1. Hi,
    I have been a supply teacher since qualifying and normally love what I do, have a passion for teaching and can usually manage difficult classes. However the last week has been horrific, with me refusing to go back to a school as the verbal abuse that came my way was just one step too far. Even the other students told this lad he had overstepped the mark, and asked " Miss, are you ok?" . I am appalled with myself because as this awful pupil was dismissed from the classroom, calling me names, I muttered under my breath words to the effect of "go ahead then, go and enjoy your sad little life". Unfortunately he heard me say it and I cannot repeat on here what was said to me. I feel ashamed that I reacted the way that I did but it had been a lesson where I was personally insulted and had remakrs made about my weight, appearance etc. There was no support from the school whatsoever, but now I am having sleepless nights about what might happen. Please can anyone offer some advice? Thank you.

2. Hi,