1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Supply rates of pay?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by LittleBrownBear, Jun 4, 2019.

1. LittleBrownBear

LittleBrownBear New commenter

Hi,

I am just starting out as supply (finishing 1st July) and despite working almost everyday I am £1000 a month worse off as my daily rate is £89 with on agency or £112 with another. I have 15 years experience and I feel that I am being paid less than an NQT. I am really struggling financially- I had to work all half term just so I had money coming in.

Can I bring this up with the agencies and ask for more or is the daily rate the daily rate and I have to get on with it?

Going to be honest- I will be really glad to be back in one place, in my own classroom with my own class- supply is not for me!

Thanks

LBB

pepper5 likes this.
  2. 50sman

50sman Senior commenter

Agencies will pay you as little as they can get ways with!

It is up to you to work out how far financially you can call their bluff!

3. binaryhex

binaryhex Lead commenter

"
    Can I bring this up with the agencies and ask for more or is the daily rate the daily rate and I have to get on with it? "

Agencies have a simple aim; get the school to pay as much as possible whilst paying the supply teacher as little as possible.

If you even have to ask whether it is okay to raise daily rates with an agency, I'd forget it. You sound like you will believe any nonsense told to you and deserve everything you get. They will continue to ker-ap on you from an ever greater height.

Enjoy.

JohnJCazorla likes this.
  4. at64

at64 New commenter