1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Supply in demand?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by hurray, Mar 1, 2011.

1. Hi

I'm a youngish teacher (well, 6 years secondary Spanish, German, French, Life Skills experience). Had a baby. Wanted part time hours. School couldn't be flexible. Then came back to me and I've been on 0.14 for this academic year. They've told me there are no hours for me next year. I'm considering supply and would make myself available 3 days per week (little boy has to go to nursery - no family support). I'm worried that I may not get much work due to a significant number of teachers being in a similar position to me (I know there are other cuts in my school and in another nearby secondary, as well as a local primary) and also more cover supervisors these days. I'd be willing to tackle any key stage and don't mind if it's state or private.

What's it like? Any advice?

2. Hi

I'm a youngish teacher (well, 6 years secondary Spanish, German, French, Life Skills experience). Had a baby. Wanted part time hours. School couldn't be flexible. Then came back to me and I've been on 0.14 for this academic year. They've told me there are no hours for me next year. I'm considering supply and would make myself available 3 days per week (little boy has to go to nursery - no family support). I'm worried that I may not get much work due to a significant number of teachers being in a similar position to me (I know there are other cuts in my school and in another nearby secondary, as well as a local primary) and also more cover supervisors these days. I'd be willing to tackle any key stage and don't mind if it's state or private.

What's it like? Any advice?

3. magic surf bus