1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Supply in Brighton

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by beckydavis84, Aug 24, 2011.

1. Hello
    I desperately want to move to Brighton. I am a qualified teacher with 4 years experience working in schools - 2 years qualified.

I applied for 3 jobs at the end of last year, sort of a spur of the moment thing as I was going to take my time with relocating but saw 3 that I liked the sound of. Anyway, got an interview at all 3 schools. Was so shocked! I had heard that schools in Brighton and Hove get up to 100 applicants.

Well, long story short, I ended up not accepting any of the jobs and got a (sort of) promotion at my current school. Now I am kicking myself and wish I had taken one of the jobs as it just seems harder and harder to get a job at the moment.

Does anyone know what doing Supply teaching in Sussex is like? Is this a viable way to make a living and fund a somewhat expensive Brighton lifestyle?

Any responses gratefully received!

2. teacha

teacha Occasional commenter

Hi Becky,