1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Summer Holiday Pay from 2 Schools

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by c1lake, Apr 29, 2019.

1. c1lake

c1lake New commenter

Does anyone know the answer to this question?

If I work in a school in England and I work to the end of the academic year and finish on 31st August but my new job in Scotland starts on the 19th August, can I still get paid from my previous school and my new school at the same time?

Or would my current work have to stop paying my summer holiday pay on the 18th August and my new employer starts paying me on the 19th August?

I would have assumed that a cross-over could take place as I would have worked my full academic year at my current school.

Any thoughts?

2. Rott Weiler

Rott Weiler Star commenter Forum guide

Get advice from your union. This has come up before and a number of posters reported that you cannot be paid by 2 schools in the way you describe.

Apparently the reason is to do with contract law. As you are still under contract to old school until 31st August you have a duty to them not to take other employment without their permission. I don't have any legal references for this, it's what's ben quoted here in the past as union advice. It's irrelevant that in fact they will not require you to do any work for them in that period. What's relevant legally is you owe contractual obligations until 31st August.

JohnJCazorla and c1lake like this.
  3. border_walker

border_walker Established commenter

If your old school don't know when you start the new one, you might just get away with it. But if they know, i doubt it.

strawbs likes this.
  4. frustum

frustum Star commenter

Burgundy book paragraph 2.1: