1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

successful routes into primary teaching

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Poppymorris, Jun 5, 2011.

1. Hi there,
    I am considering a career change to primary school teaching and am looking for some advice.
    I have a BA and a couple of years experience working within museum education (ages 3 to teenagers, including SEN and some outreach work within schools though mainly museum based).
    For the past 2 1/2 years or so I have been working as a Pastry Chef, but am now really keen to return to my earlier career in education.
    I understand that my preferred route into this, the GTP, is highly competitive to get onto and obviously I am currently working full time, and would find it difficult to gain large amounts of school based experience at the moment.
    Would the best idea therefore be to try and find a teaching assistant role first? What levels of qualifications/experience would be necessary for this?
    Thanks in advance for your help and advice! [​IMG]

2. Hi Poppy
    You may struggle to obtain a TA role without any TA qualifications.
    I am currently studying a Level 2 TA course one evening a week since January and do 2 days a week volunteering in a Primary School. The course requires you to do 15 hours minimum a week in a school. A lot of the course assessment is on the job or reflective accounts about experiences in school eg. How have you helped in ICT in the classroom ?. Without first hand experience you would not have the tools to complete the course.
    Also most TA job vacancies are saying at least Level 3 qual is an essential requirement.