1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Subject lead with No TLR or support

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Zoeart85, Sep 17, 2019.

1. Zoeart85

Zoeart85 New commenter

Hi,

I'm looking for a bit of advice with regards to my role at my school. I am an experienced EYFS teacher and been in my current school for 1 year. I have previously had a middle leader role as the lead of art at a previous school but it was a one form entry and we had training from the deputy head and a lot of support.
    On the last day of school last academic year in my current school, I found out I had been given the humanities lead for the whole school (geog and history), from reading the staff handbook! Not even a conversation with me prior to this at all. I have never experienced this before as in previous schools teachers were invited to apply. I then found out that I am the only teacher in the school who has been given a big subject area to lead on my own and when I asked the deputy head about a TLR, he laughed at me and said no. Have since found out that no other teachers get TLRs either, apart from one last year because she made a huge fuss. I really don't want this role, it was just thrown in my lap. Can I say no to it or do I just have to do it? It seems no one in my school says no to anything and this is intimidating. I am also aware that the school hardly ever give out extra PPA or time out to do extra work so I know this is going to take up a lot of extra time when I can fit it in around classroom work.