1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

subject knowledge enhancement

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by indonesia39, Dec 26, 2011.

1. I'm an experienced PGCE Primary teacher and I've done 3 OU Mathematics courses in the last couple of years.I am interested in teaching secondary Maths(obviously only KS3,KS4,GSCE standard to start with) but my first degree is Science.From what I've found out unfortunately I'm not eligible to undertake the SKE course as I already have a PGCE.
    Does anyone have any advice as to my best way forward? Is it possible to buy the materials used on these courses for example?What about secondary Maths Pedagogy books?There are so many on Amazon,any advice on the the most useful ones?Are there any other courses that people would recommend,for example the OU Teaching Mathematical Thinking at KS3.
    I'm very willing to do lots of work,although I do feel confident that I could do well at this but I don't want to be a 'blagger.'Without being overdramatic I'd never want to waste a child's opportunity although we were all NQTs once! Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

2. In terms of pedagogy, ask five different secondary teachers and you will likely get five different answers, just read some of the discussions on here.