1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Subject audit with staff...

Discussion in 'Primary' started by paul_mc1, Apr 22, 2012.

1. paul_mc1

paul_mc1 New commenter

I have a staff meeting on Tuesday and was wanting to do an ICT subject audit with the staff as this is my first year at the school and want to know peoples' views on how things are. I was thinking about doing a SWOT Analysis (strengths, weakenesses, opportunities and threats). Do you think this would work? Does anyone have any other suggestions as to how to audit the staff.
    Thanks

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Whatever you do, try to make the staff feel this is about their needs for training, not about YOU auditing THEM.
    Take in some biscuits and talk about how you want to help <u>them</u> improve their expertise, practice and skills set. Where do they feel the gaps are? What resources might they lack? etc.
    Then tell them you'll come up with concrete plans for 'the way forward' by a set date.

3. 2004ajd

2004ajd New commenter

When I audit my subject areas; I usually give plenty of notice. Where I have written the schemes of work, staff are encouraged to evaluate over half termly intervals. We then discuss what has worked well, areas of concern and whether any resources are needed. A SWOT analysis is a good idea however, to have a true overall audit, staff need to be given time to reflect on subject areas. Do the staff know about the audit?
    Audit the staff? Surely you would need to monitor lessons for this.

4. paul_mc1

paul_mc1 New commenter

Thanks for both of your replies.