1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Students stopping after a single session

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by Bashkemesuesi, Aug 19, 2018.

1. Bashkemesuesi

Bashkemesuesi New commenter

Hello everyone. This is my maiden post (although I've been tutoring for seven years) so please bear with me if I seem to say anything too obvious....

However, I really don't think I will, because on scanning the thread titles (I've gone through all 50 pages of threads listed), two things really stood out for me as being quite contrary to the way I see things. The first is the amount of fuss so many of you appear to kick up about student "cancellations", which sure enough, on enquiry turns out to be cases where a student misses a session for illness etc. Even more surprising, to me, is the amount of pettifoggery on here about cancellation having "less than 24 hours' notice", when you know perfectly well that someone can go to bed fine and wake up feeling unwell and phoning school they won't be coming in, and then contacting you to say to skip the session, obviously with about 9 hours' notice. I've got quite a lot to say about this, but I won't in this thread because as I say, it's really not my concern and I want you all to focus thoroughly on my second point: