1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Student teaching coming to the end of training and feeling a little low - is it normal?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Becky15, Apr 24, 2011.

1. Becky15

Becky15 New commenter

Hey I'm a student teacher about to start my last placement of the course and rather than feeling full of enthusiasm and joy I feel low and like I've lost my reasons for wanting to teach in the first place!
    Is this a normal feeling to have as a student teacher or is it an early sign that perhaps teaching is not for me?

2. lilykitty

lilykitty New commenter

Reflect on your feelings a bit more, and consider what is making you feel negatively about the upcoming placement. I always found placements tricky because there are lots of additional stresses and restrictions which you don't have with 'normal' teaching. There's also a lot of pressure around final placements which might be affecting you.
    I think my best advice (for what it's worth!) would be to make a list of the things that inspired you about teaching in the first place. Decide that you're going to do the best you can in your placement, whether you are going to proceed with teaching or not. Then, as you go through the placement, look back at your list. Does the job meet your initial hopes? If it doesn't, you will have acquired useful skills and a better understanding of the type of job you really do want.
    I would strongly recommend that you give your placement the best you can, and put your doubts to the back of your mind as you see how it unfolds.
    Good luck!

3. Sillow

Sillow Lead commenter