1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Student Teacher Placement - Behaviour

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by iainmacdonald86, Sep 28, 2015.

1. iainmacdonald86

iainmacdonald86 New commenter

Hello,

This is my first post so I hope someone can offer some advice!

I'm currently a student doing my teacher training at university. I'll been soon be starting my first 2 month placement at a secondary school.

The teacher who I will be working under has allocated a few classes for me to lead over the 2 month period. Having met the classes and seen them in action, there are some behaviour issues that I know I will come up against (constant chit-chat, etc.). Their teacher does have a good level of control over them but I feel has a different approach to myself.

So my question is this - the pupils are used to a certain way of working however is it wise for me to introduce new classroom routines (such as lining up before coming into the classroom, 2 warnings, etc.) in order to (hopefully!) minimise behavioural issues I forsee being a problem? Or rather should I try and 'put on' the style of classroom management their teacher currently operates? I'm not suggesting the teacher's way is wrong (what would i know anyway - i'm just a student!), it's just not what I thought my practice would be.

Thank you in advance!

2. Kartoshka

Kartoshka Established commenter