1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Student teacher needing behaviour help!!

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by jaderoberts91, Feb 3, 2011.

1. Hello
    I'm currently a 2nd year university student studying Primary Education and I am currently on placement in a year 1 class.
    Basically the class are really badly behaved and I struggle when it comes to managing them. It has taken the class teacher months to get them to behave for her but they dont for me at all and I'm not getting much help from the teacher.
    Does anyone have any advice/tips/strategies that would help me deal with the whole class? They are disruptive, chatty and do not listen. In particular there is one girl who does not respond to me at all, and there is a boy with aspergers who I cannot get through to.
    Any help that you could give me would be much appreciated, this is really making me want to give up!!

Thank you!

2. RaymondSoltysek

RaymondSoltysek New commenter

I've said something very similar in a similar thread, but here goes.
    I have a lot of experience of behaviour management and student teachers, and, in the long run, advice and tips aren't enough. Its about you thinking deeply about the whole philosophy of your classroom.
    Decide in detail
    (a) what kind of classroom you want
    (b) what sort of relationships you want with your pupils
    (c) what techniques, strategies and resources you need to commit to and apply consistently to achieve that.