1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Student loan help?

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by anon2047, Jan 29, 2012.

1. Hi,
    I have just had my first student loan deduction, but I am sure it shouldn't start until April. Can anyone explain how it works?
    I did a 3 year full time degree which finished in 2010, PGCE 2010 - 2011 and have just started working full time on a temp contract until Summer.
    Any help gratefully appreciated!

2. jubilee

jubilee Star commenter

You only pay (at 9%) on income over £15k in the tax year.
    If you had no earnings from 6th April 2011 until this employment, work out if you will receive £15k gross pay or more by the 5th April 2012.
    If you can't possibly earn that amount (and those starting out in teaching can't) you need to contact the SLC and arrange for a STOP notice to be placed with the Inland revenue (who collect the payments for the SLC.
    aS YOU WILL EARN £15K + in the 2012/13 tax year, you should start making repayments in your April 2012 pay.
    If your employment doesn't last a full tax year and you get no other work, you can reclaim any deductions made to the SLC after the end of the tax year.
    Ask if your current deductions can be rebated immediately by the Inland revenue (SLC don't get the deductions passed on until after the end of the tax year (even months after) so they can't give you back what they don't yet have evidence of you paying! You may have to wait until after April to get the unwarranted deductions rebated.
    The problem lies with your tax code. Did you complete p46 DECLARING THIS AS YOUR FIRST EMPLOYMENT OF THE TAX YEAR? That would have alerted the IR to your lack of earnings prior to this job.