1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Student hit me

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by winteriscoming86, Mar 28, 2017.

1. winteriscoming86

winteriscoming86 New commenter

Morning,
    I am a young female teacher whom last week I was struck by a Year 7 student as I barred the way into a classroom with my arm. The student struck me on the arm forcing it away from the door. I'm not afraid to admit it...it hurt, however there was no real damage. This student is saying that I grabbed their coat and tried to push them. This did not happen.

My school has isolated the student, intends to exclude for a period, but not permanently exclude. Has anyone else experienced something similar? If so what happened? Do you think they should be excluded permanently?

Thanks
    HR

2. FrankWolley

FrankWolley Star commenter

Your school seems to be taking this seriously, which is good. I think you need to speak to your Union to get advice relevant to your particular school.

3. slingshotsally

slingshotsally Star commenter

The detail about the arm can identify you. Please inform the mods to take this down.

Health and Safety 101 - keep close to the exit and do not block it...

You need to have TeamTeach training which helps de-escalate situations. I found this invaluable.

http://www.teamteach.co.uk/

4. sbkrobson

sbkrobson Star commenter